West Indies vs India: Ravindra Jadeja misses 3rd ODI, all-rounder not yet 100 percent fit after knee injury

India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja continued to remain on the sidelines as he failed to recover in time for the 3rd and final ODI against the West Indies in Port of Spain, Trinidad on Wednesday, July 27. Jadeja was not included in the playing XI for the final ODI after Shikhar Dhawan won the toss and opted to bat against the hosts.

Ravindra Jadeja, who was appointed as the vice-captain of the ODI team in the absence of the big names including captain Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya, was initially ruled out of the first 2 ODIs due to a knee injury he picked up in the lead up to the ODIs.

West Indies vs India, 3rd ODI Live Updates

The BCCI had said that a call on his participation would be taken after the first 2 ODIs but the Indian cricket board on Wednesday confirmed that Jadeja was not 100 percent yet to take the field in the final ODI.

“Ravindra Jadeja was not available for selection for the 3rd ODI since he is still not 100 percent fit.The medical team will continue to monitor his progress,” the BCCI said.

India made only one change to the team that won the 2nd ODI on Sunday as they brought back Karnataka pacer Prasidh Krishna to replace Avesh Khan.

It was expected that left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh would get to make his ODI debut in the series finale but India made only one change to their line-up with the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan also warming the benches throughout the series.

On the other hand, there was good news for West Indies as all-rounder Jason Holder returned to the XI after missing the first two ODIs due to Covid-19.

India (Playing XI) – Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (WK), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna (In for Avesh Khan), Yuzvendra Chahal.

West Indies (Playing XI) – Shai Hope (WK), Kyle Mayers, Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (C), Jason Holder (In for Rovman Powell), Keacy Carty (In for Alzarri Joseph), Keemo Paul (In for Romario Shepherd), Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh, Jayden Seales.

— ENDS —

Source link

Leave a Comment